REALTO - the platform for integrated vocational education

FEATURES

What makes REALTO unique?

CAPTURING EXPERIENCES

Capturing experiences through different media (photos, text, audio, video) supports the transfer of knowledge between, students and teachers and can aid future reflection-on-action. In addition, by being trained to learn also through the digitalized experiences of others, students are able to expand their own work experience.

CREATING EXPERIENCES

Realto offers the possibility to create, store and access vocation specific and general learning activities. These activities are the concrete means by which REALTO brings theoretical and practical knowledge together by allowing students to see theoretical principles in action, or discover the theory behind workplace experiences. Its built-in learning documentation forms, also allow for the systematic accumulation of, and reflection on past experiences.

CONNECTING EXPERIENCES

The existence of a shared space enables a connection between the student, teacher and also supervisor. All stakeholders are able to inform themselves about the academic and vocation specific progress of the student and offer and coordinate support where needed.

About

What is REALTO and who can use REALTO?
REALTO is the next-generation platform that connects workplace and school knowledge

More than two thirds of Swiss students leave high school after 9 years of mandatory schooling and enroll in a vocational education programme. Most of these students are part of a Dual system in which they usually spend 4 days a week at a company and 1 day at school. While this Dual system offers a lot of advantages it also poses certain challenges. One of these challenges is that apprentices often perceive a discrepancy between what they learn at school and what they need at the workplace. Addressing this discrepancy requires a systematic integration of theoretical and practical knowledge.

REALTO is a next-generation online platform for VET that sets out to strengthen such integration. It creates a shared digital space, providing the possibility for apprentices to store and share their experiences captured in photos, videos and texts. REALTO further supports teacher with the creation of learning activities, which illustrate the relevance of the theoretical concepts to the workplace. It can be accessed through a browser and mobile application.

REALTO promotion video

REALTO in Action

THE REALTO TEAM

REALTO is developed by a team from EPFL, University of Fribourg, and SFIVET.
REALTO is part of the research project DUAL-T sponsored by the Swiss State Secretariat for Education, Research, and Innovation.
Uploaded image

PIERRE DILLENBOURG

Principal Investigator/ Professor EPFL
Uploaded image

JEAN-LUC GURTNER

Professor University of Fribourg
Uploaded image

ALBERTO CATTANEO

Professor at SFIVET
Uploaded image

CATHARINE OERTEL

Project manager/ Postdoctoral Researcher
Uploaded image

MARTIN DOBRICKI

Postdoctoral Researcher
Uploaded image

JORIS FELDER

Community Manager
Uploaded image

KEVIN KIM

PhD candidate
Uploaded image

RAMTIN YAZDANIAN

PhD candidate
Uploaded image

Alessia Coppi

PhD candidate
Uploaded image

Guillaume Zufferey

Lead developer

Get in touch

REALTO - La plate-forme pour la formation professionnelle connectée

FEATURES

Qu'est-ce qui rend Realto unique?

RECUEILLIR LES EXPÉRIENCES

La capture d’expériences à travers différents médias (photos, texte, audio, vidéo) favorise le transfert de connaissances entre les élèves et les enseignants et peut aider à la réflexion sur l’action. De plus, en étant formés pour apprendre aussi à travers les expériences numériques des autres, les étudiants sont en mesure d’élargir leur propre expérience de travail.

CRÉER DES EXPÉRIENCES

Realto offre la possibilité de créer, de stocker et d’accéder à des activités d’apprentissage spécifiques et générales. Ces activités sont les moyens concrets par lesquels REALTO réunit les connaissances théoriques et pratiques en permettant aux étudiants de voir les principes théoriques en action ou de découvrir la théorie derrière les expériences en milieu de travail. Ses formulaires de documentation d’apprentissage intégrés permettent également l’accumulation systématique des expériences passées et la réflexion sur celles-ci.

RASSEMBLER LES EXPÉRIENCES

L’existence d’un espace commun permet d’établir un lien entre l’élève, l’enseignant et le superviseur. Toutes les parties prenantes sont en mesure de s’informer sur les progrès académiques et professionnels spécifiques de l’étudiant et d’offrir et de coordonner le soutien là où c’est nécessaire.

About

REALTO c'est quoi et qui peut l'utiliser?
REALTO est la plateforme de prochaine génération qui connecte le lieu de travail et l’école professionnelle

Plus des deux tiers des élèves suisses quittent l'école secondaire après 9 ans de scolarité obligatoire et s'inscrivent dans un programme de formation professionnelle. La plupart de ces étudiants font partie d'un système dual dans lequel ils passent généralement 4 jours par semaine dans une entreprise et 1 jour à l'école. Bien que ce système double offre beaucoup d'avantages, il pose aussi certains défis. L'un de ces défis est que les apprentis perçoivent souvent un écart entre ce qu'ils apprennent à l'école et ce dont ils ont besoin sur le lieu de travail. Pour remédier à cet écart, il faut intégrer systématiquement les connaissances théoriques et pratiques.

REALTO est une plate-forme en ligne de la prochaine génération pour l'EFP qui vise à renforcer cette intégration. Il crée un espace numérique partagé, offrant aux apprentis la possibilité de stocker et de partager leurs expériences capturées dans des photos, des vidéos et des textes. REALTO soutient également l'enseignant dans la création d'activités d'apprentissage qui illustrent la pertinence des concepts théoriques par rapport au lieu de travail. Il est accessible par le biais d'un navigateur et d'une application mobile.

REALTO vidéo de présentation

REALTO en action

L'ÉQUIPE DE REALTO

REALTO est développée par une équipe de l'EPFL, l’Université de Fribourg, et l'IFFP.
REALTO fait partie du projet de recherche DUAL-T parrainée par le Le Secrétariat d’Etat à la formation, à la recherche et à l’innovation.
Uploaded image

PIERRE DILLENBOURG

Principal Investigator/ Professor EPFL
Uploaded image

JEAN-LUC GURTNER

Professor University of Fribourg
Uploaded image

ALBERTO CATTANEO

Professor at SFIVET
Uploaded image

CATHARINE OERTEL

Project manager/ Postdoctoral Researcher
Uploaded image

MARTIN DOBRICKI

Postdoctoral Researcher
Uploaded image

JORIS FELDER

Community Manager
Uploaded image

KEVIN KIM

PhD candidate
Uploaded image

RAMTIN YAZDANIAN

PhD candidate
Uploaded image

Alessia Coppi

PhD candidate
Uploaded image

Guillaume Zufferey

Lead developer

Get in touch